D77

By D77

Hidden gem

Most of today was spent working out the main theme to The Rock and attempting to transcribe it onto a rather nifty music annotation website I stumbled upon when looking for an alternative to an A4 sheet full of staves coupled with a pencil and a rubber. It's pretty tough, but as nobody else seems to have worked it out (aside from Hans Zimmer, Nick Glennie-Smith and Harry Gregson-Williams) it looks like it's up to me to enlighten piano players all over the world to the secrets of this wonderful piece of music.

I was planning to blip my make-shift music studio, but late afternoon saw a trip to the rather lovely Al-Azhar Park where we were met with peace, quiet and the most spectacular views of the city.

I've always wanted to recreate this using the higgledy-piggledy rooftops of Cairo, and as the sun was setting and Egyptian families were preparing for Iftar with picnics (we were in a little bit of awe and wonder at how we'd missed this place the whole of last year), I got my chance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.