crabtree

By crabtree

George the Heron

So I'm back in Ireland again and have got my hands on a very large and conspicuous zoom lens that slightly resembles a small missile launcher...wahey!

Ive spent the last two days trying to pap one of the herons at Schull with no luck...yesterday they were all sitting happily in the boats in the harbor - too far away, strangely when I returned today they were still sitting where I had left them yesterday. I hung around hoping they might venture onto the shore but they seemed quite content so I went back to the car to try think of something else to photograph. As I was sitting there I heard the squawk of a heron and legged back to the harbor to find three herons looking hopefully at a fresh catch that had just been brought in. I got talking to a local fisherman who let me onto the platform where I took this photo from. As he was shoveling fish into a small crate with a fork he informed me this herons name was George and that he had been feeding him scraps here for the last ten years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.