Hammond's Pond

A very unusual day today!

To my great surprise kaybee and SWMBO called into the shop to see me on their way south on holiday. That's two consecutive days I've had photographers visiting. I do like a good chat. If any other blippers visit they should be warned not to let me get between them and the door!

The Man knew I was suffering a headache again today so kindly offered to stop on the way home from our trip up to Carlisle for me to get a blip at Hammond's Pond. Over a hundred years ago this was a clay pit for a brickmaker. The kilns were nearby. In 1923 a "pleasure park" was opened on the site due to the inspiration given by Archie Hammond. It is still a great place for the city dwellers to relax in.

Unfortunately, today, the impressive fountain was turned off. Sorry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.