RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Old Relic

I had a really long day today and got only half the things done I needed to.

One of my (unplanned) tasks was to rent a moving trailer for some merchandise that needed to go into storage. Long story, and I won't bore you all with it here.

Upon returning to the rental place, I found this old relic of a tractor sitting by the building. Abandoned, rusting, weeds growing around it. It just begged me to take a snap.

So here it is. I often wonder why people keep these things around, especially at a rental yard, but I guess they probably have sentimental value for someone. I remember when I was really young, my dad and my Uncle John took me for a ride on a tractor quite similar to this one. I remember my dad turning the crank in front to get it started. My Uncle John lived in Saskatoon Canada at the time. He was a really cool Uncle cause he only had one arm. His other was lost as a boy when he fell off the back of a tractor and it was severed by the disc that was being towed for furrowing.

I haven't thought of my Uncle and that story for a long time. Sorry I digressed, but that's what catching a moment in time is all about, right?

We are leaving on for a week long camping trip tomorrow and will be without cell phones and Internet. As a result, I will probably go off the grid for the next ten days. I will back blip when I return, and I might have something tomorrow. we'll see.


Thanks from California and good night. I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.