The second half of life..

By twigs

Grubbiness

I was woken this morning by what I vaguely remember thinking could have been an earthquake.....but then thinking that it was more likely to be my cat jumping off my bed.

An email from someone in Christchurch said they'd "had an uneventful trip home [after the week of netball] but a very eventful night!" and this jogged my memory about the earthquake I thought I'd felt for some reason. I hooked up to the internet to find out and was blown away - a massive earthquake (7.1 magnitude) had struck Christchurch at about 4.35am and there was massive destruction to houses, roads, businesses, sewerage pipes, power lines, water pipes......

I've had the TV on for most of the day watching everything unfold. I simply cannot image what the people of the Canterbury region are going through, especially tonight given the weather forescast is for high winds and torrential rain for the next 48 hours or so and the aftershocks are continuing to rumble on.

My heart goes out to everyone who has been affected by this disaster, and in particular to fellow blippers from the Canterbury region -
hpx, barking, pixelsmiths, be, cabbagetree, here,
to name a few.



I trust that you and yours are safe and remain so for as long as it takes for things to settle back down to some semblance of normality.

Went to see a friend and wish her 'happy birthday' this afternoon then came home to settle in for a quiet, warm night. As I chopped some firewood I unknowingly destroyed this hu-hu grubs home - he must have been gnawing away at the inside of the log for months until today, when I came along and created the equivalent of a massive earthquake that destroyed his home too.

And that's how quickly life can change - the blink of an eye, the swing of an axe or the jolt of the earth........

Treasure what you have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.