Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Sunny Day

Saranda

Saranda is a large holiday destination for Albanians. The huge, beige, tenement-esque hotels start at the top of the hill and tumble. sometimes literally, all; the was down to the beach-front. At night most people are dressed up and hanging around the main street that is lined with beach-bars. market stalls and kebab shops.

Although not necessarily aesthetically pleasing it has its charms. The Albanian people are extremely hospitable, the food is all local and fresh and the beer is cheap (how dreadfully un-cultured of me).

Like a true Scot, that day I got myself burnt as hell on the beach. Only on my front though, my legs, chest and stomach were beaming like a radioactive apple. However, I kept my back out the sun, so it remained a nice pale of ivory. Twisting myself around and looking in the bathroom mirror I somewhat resembled a Battenberg cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.