Balancing Rock

Some eight or nine years ago I put this rock on an old concrete post.  I thought that it had a sculptural quality, quite apart from any Freudian connotations.  It has sat there gathering lichen ever since.  This afternoon as I walked past it I noticed that it had made a quarter turn from its previous position.  For a moment I wondered how that came about.  Then I realised- the earthquake.  

Although the earthquake seemed extreme to me it is obvious that it was a lot less severe here than in many other places that are a lot further away from the epicentre than I am.  Yesterday we were without power for most of the day.  I did not see the images of the devastation  in Christchurch City until evening.  Then I understood how lucky we were here.

My daughter, FirehorseMia, did not fare so well.  The contents of her kitchen cupboards and shelves- china, glassware, and baking and cooking ingredients in jars- were all hurled to the floor with such force everything was smashed.  She used a shovel to clear it up.

Many families have lost their homes, and many business people have lost their livelihoods.

And the aftershocks continue.  I have experienced a large number of earthquakes in my time, but many of these aftershocks are worse than any I'd ever felt before.  It must be terrifying for the people most affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.