Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Make like a banana

Split

We arrived in Split at 3.30 am. Unfortunately we could not get into our hostel till 12 midday so there was a lot of sitting around to be had. This wasn't all bad though. The sun rose at around 6 am so we ventured off to find a coffee. There was a lot more happening than I would originally have guessed at this time in the morning. The fruit market was in full swing, in fact some of the stalls were almost empty. Even the cafés were starting to fill up. The morning temperature was a nice 24 degrees (ish) so we sat down by the beach front watched the people walk by.

This woman walked past out bench and I couldn't resist getting a photograph. She was routing in the bins that lined the beach front, looking for salvageable food stuff I guess. I brought the viewfinder to my eye and as I pulled it into focus I saw that she was staring straight down the lens. I got that little butterfly flicker my tummy, the one you get when you make eye contact with a stranger through the lens of you camera. Snap.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.