Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

On guard

When the alarm went off at 9.45 it took me a while to remember why I'd set it. Fortunately I did after only a few moments' confusion. I met Tom, one of the guys from the music group that I haven't seen for a long time, for a bite to eat before going over to today's venue. We had a good old chat. I told him about the holiday in Croatia and the trip to Budapest and he in turn told me about the German visitors he'd had over and about the time he'd recently spent in Rome. We had a good old natter over brunch in Bram's Café (near Marino Crescent where Bram Stoker was born). We agreed that this was he perfect spot to meet before this pre-Halloween music session.

The session was in a house in Grosvenor Square, a rather posh part of Dublin's south side. It's a fine old house, and the square is architecturally pleasing. Our host did us proud, the music was enjoyable (and all themed for the time of year), and we were treated to a fine spread of sandwiches and cake and biscuits and brack. We actually got to the house early, it was Tom who spotted a neighbour's dog lounging at the top of the steps outside the hall door, and I blipped the moment in case nothing else presented itself during the rest of the day.

It hasn't so far, so here's the dog. I'm meeting my mate Alan in town for one of our sessions. With the clock going back, I can see this turning into an even more hectic session than usual, with many references to phrases such as 'it's really an hour earlier than that, you know, so we might as well have another'. Under these circumstances I doubt very much that anything else will come along to replace this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.