My Thirties in pictures

By bubana

Squirrel on the wall

I took this photo in Shoreditch this weekend. I love street art and this is a perfect example of it. The squirrel is almost hanging of the tree- the reality mixes with surreal.

I come to Spitalfields a lot but I haven't been in this area once. Aubin cinema is to the right, down the street. Shoreditch high street is behind me.

There are nice cafes and boutiques in the area, but there is something really false about it all. It's got too fancy with men in skinny jeans halfway down their bum and pointy shoes walking alongside girls in 'scruffy' dresses and jewellery worth thousands of pounds. Who work for 'creative industry', look at everyone from above and talk absolute banalities (yes, I did eavesdrop).

Obviously all this is a huge generalisation, but this weekend a walk down those few streets kind of confirmed all the prejudices about Shoreditch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.