Pob's World

By Pobsworld

Corstorphine Hill Tower

B & I took a climb up Corstorphine Hill today to give me a chance to play with my new camera.
Corstorphine hill and its nature reserve is yet another bit of Edinburgh that I'm ashamed to say I haven't investigated before, despite having lived within 3 miles of it my entire life.

At the top of the hill (alongside a really ugly Air traffic reception tower) is Corstorphine Hill tower, also known as Clermiston or Scott tower.

This tower was erected in 1871 to celebrate the centenary of the birth of Sir Walter Scott and was gifted to Edinburgh Corportation (Council) in 1932 on the centenary of Scott's death, by W.G. Walker.

Unfortunately the tower doesn't open in winter months, so I must go back in the summer. I'm sure you get amazing views of the Pentland hills and the Firth of Forth from the top.

On the way back down we visited the walled garden. It's not much to look at at this time of year but is probably very beautiful in the summer and is a lovely peaceful spot.

Another afternoon of exploring in Edinburgh - the perfect way to spend a Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.