an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Paddle, paddle, paddle

Walking along the river by work today I saw these two old boys pass under the bridge I was on, they shouted hello and looked like they were having a lovely paddle.

Further down the river they got out just as I had caught them up, I swapped a knowing look with one of them as he wobbled a bit too much when trying to get out of his boat and on to the bank.

Back in our former lives we used to kayak. We even own the boats, the paddles, the wetsuits and all the other stuff.

Typically we got really into it but by the time we bought all the stuff other things started to take over our lives and then we just fell out of the habit of it.

The boats now live at my parents, the paddles live in the cellar and all the other gear is in the loft.

I plan that one day we will resurrect this hobby but not for a little while yet.

Well if these old boys can still do it their retirement I figure we have plenty of time to pick it back up again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.