Meles

By meles

Wobbly dog

I once visited Nepal, only for a week in 1985, but I fell in love with the place and retain vivid memories of it. We were working for the British Council so there wasn't much time for sight-seeing and we didn't travel out of the Khatmandu valley. Still, we were taken one day for a trip to Bhaktapur and up to look at the view from Dhulikel. These names only came back to me once I started following Portsmouth and beyond's fascinating journal.

Perhaps he can help me recall the origin of this little earthenware dog (?) who has been with me since that trip. I bought him in a village that we passed through on the way back into Khatmandu. He had a chipped nose and his nearside rear leg shorter than the other three, but I'm very fond of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.