little stimuli

I forgot to have any coffee until almost lunchtime today. It tasted very nice when I finally got round to it so I might try the same thing again; it's certainly a better situation to be in than one where I end up using up almost the entire flaskful before lunchtime, raising the threat of having to buy another for the afternoon. Although two smaller flasks would lose a bit of surface-to-mass ratio heat-retention advantage they'd be easier to fit other things around in my bag and could then be divided into a morning and afternoon portion, though out of the three various bits of smallflask in the cupboard at home I think only one fully watertight complete unit can be derived, the other nozzles and seals having all failed at some point due to their poor design or inability to resist being warped by the heat from the contents being poured through them.

Although it wasn't raining particularly heavily today I thought I might have another rare experimental wear of my allegedly waterproof and breathable cycling-coat, even though I suspected it would be a bad idea seeing as the end of my road twenty metres from the house is the lowest point on my route and that it was windyish but still warm. I removed it and stuffed it in my bag after a couple of miles when the condensation started to trickle past my wrists. I tried again on the way home, reasoning that as the rain was significantly heavier and that it is possible to select a route involving almost zero climbing that I might be able to test the waterproofness without having to worry too much about the results being confused by internally-generated moisture. Whilst my forearms were doing a fair bit of work squeezing the brake-handles I doubt the heat generated could account for all the dampness inside my sleeves when I got home. Despite the length of time it took to choose it after my previous coat lost what little waterproofiness it had (alongside which it never claimed and never exhibited breathability) it's looking very much like it wants to be punted on eBay in order to be replaced by something much more like the thing I had previously, cheaper and more comfortable and less disappointing due to never claiming to be made of magic. I might give it until the middle of winter to see if it's more effective when it's cold enough to be worn without inducing immediate copious sweating, though from what I recall when it's cold enough to have to wear a full-arm-length layer beneath it it just results in soggy, smelly sleeves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.