WorldLens

By worldlens

Early Morning Lily

Sleep was playing tag last night, and I could never catch it. I chased it for a few hours then prayed for a while then worshiped a bit, read, played games on my cell phone, tried to tag sleep with no luck, did some planning, worked on the computer, prayed some more, read from Joshua, Samuel, and a few Psalms, tried to catch up with sleep...never got there.

At 4:00 am I gave up, got up, and went up to the roof. My side of the city is fairly quiet at that hour, but it grew steadily noisier as I sat, watching the clouds change, reading some more, listening to the roosters and birds grow louder and louder as more cars began driving by and the sounds of people stirring rose through the air.

I wanted to capture a shot of the sun rising between the clouds and the buildings, but the sun was hiding behind a gray sky all morning. Being up early permitted a nice walk around the university when the water lilies are at their happiest time. The frogs were out too, but they chose the lily pads farther from the shore and just looked like green blops. (The ripples in the background are from a frightened green blop.)

So today you get a couple of water lilies. I really enjoy the lakes at the university across from my dorm. Sitting in the shade and looking over the water is a great place to meet a friend, practice English/Thai, or just enjoy God's creation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.