a pinhole sky explodes out

By blazar

The Ladybug

I had some free time today (finally) to walk around and look for interesting things to photograph. Of course, as soon as I walked over to the Old Main lawn, squirrels decided they were very interested in my camera (probably thinking it was food). One squirrel literally came up to me and grabbed for the lens with his tiny little claws, and actually put some scratches in the plastic casing. I got some cool shots of this particular squirrel attacking my camera and a few others of different squirrels doing different things. It's funny... it seems like they all have different mannerisms when it comes to begging for food. The first one was very straightforward. He came directly over to me when he crouched, and went right for the kill (this is probably the same squirrel that bit britni when she put out her finger to try to pet its head last year). The second was a little dartier -- he came right up to me when I was standing, but then when I crouched down he darted around me at about the same distance. He seemed antsier when I was closer to the ground. A third squirrel was very slow and deliberate, but also a little more cautious. She (for some reason, I got the impression that it was a female) lost interest much more quickly than the other two.

From Old Main I walked downtown and just started looking around. A couple of frats are holding "haunted houses" for tonight's halloween festivities, and one even had a lynched pumpkin man hanging out its second story window. Also, somebody had lost his belt and wrapped it around the railing of a parking deck.

When I was getting really close to my dorm I saw a little bug flying towards me and got out of the way so it could fly by. Then I realized that there were quite a few of these flying bugs, and realized that they were ladybugs. I walked over to the wall of the building that they were flying around and saw that a couple had landed and were just sort of sitting there. I took a few pictures of them.

In the end, I picked this image over the squirrel images for two reasons. The first is that I took a close-up picture of a squirrel on Friday and I didn't want to be redundant, and the secound is that I haven't blipped a minimalistic image in a pretty long time.

I'm happy for the empty feel of this picture... I'm really happy I feel like I have this much space in my life right now, rather than a squirrel all up in my grill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.