The Quiet Plodder

By thequietplodder

Flinders Street Melbourne

Reluctantly, I found myself in the centre of an evil empire - my description for the Melbourne CBD. A place I avoid these days where possible as the canyons of concrete and bitumen is not a place of ease. Nonetheless, I thought I will take my first digital camera for a snapping adventure - a Hewlett Packard Photosmart320 (maximum resolution 2mp) and have a bit of fun with exposures etc. The camera still works a treat, though is terse with features. Though perhaps it was innovative on its launch those years ago and in this digital era a year is about the equivalent of 10 years in terms of technology.

As I was walking down Flinders Street, which is one of the main thoroughfares of Melbourne and 'batting away' the demented, forlorn looking masses homebound in their drudgery with my walking stick, I noticed a horse and buggy trotting nonchalantly up the street with some rather excited passengers. Though the light was dull and I had no creative control over the camera (everything, more or less, was full auto) I snapped away. Mind you the driver of the buggy gave me a fierce look as if I was 'invading' his public space to whit I responded with a Plod smile. This was the photo I snared, which I have in post production, cleaned up the noise using Photoshop but otherwise is as presented.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.