this luminous life.

By Laura

Milestones.

Miles Davis.

There are a lot of stories I can share through each photo, as well as a lot of story behind my blip itself!

It all started here on October 26, 2006, back when blip was a wee community and people hadn't yet started to mass comment welcome cheers on the blips of newcomers. I had decided to join after two friends of mine at the time started blips of their own. [Where are they now? Let's say they've both unsubscribed from me....one of those "friends" suddenly cut off communication with me when he found I was thinking about dating his "best friend" -- whom I later convinced to join blip as well :)]

I've managed to capture a grim reaper, a suicidal teddy bear (twice!), sky photos of Chicago and New York City, double dates, a cool raccoon, my first trip to the opera, a duck from Hooters, the best New Year's Eve ever, a taping of a television show, strange classes, my 100th blip with jello, a Mastodon concert, a valentine, a crazy piece of art, a saran-wrapped SUV, dirty words in the snow, ants, a shaving cream explosion, a great spring break, beautiful trees, puzzles (and more puzzles!), a very delicious smoothie, a random "graveyard" discovery on campus -- a good example of something I wouldn't have taken a picture of if I didn't have blip as a reason to carry my camera around, a water park, sad beautiful roadkill, fuzzy caterpillars, an autographed book, knocking a tree down, cicadas, beautiful sky after the rain, flowers for my birthday, raindrops on a bird's wing, my tomato plants, a limo invasion, some fun at work, the Bean -- a chicago tourist attraction, finding my grandfather's grave, an adorable pig, my new frog, thumbtacks in my fingers, a bad morning with a broken camera, roller coasters, a fetus in a jar, New York City, and more....

Because of blip, I have been able to take notice of my surroundings a lot more--paying attention to the normal details in my life as well as paying more attention to the world outside my little bubble. I have also been able to connect a little bit better with other members of the community. I have also been able to learn more about the people I know in my life through what they like to capture with their cameras.


-----

As for the actual blip itself, some of the kids at the Salvation Army were cutting shapes and stamping papers so I decided to make my own.... :) Yay, stamps!

-----

I'm not planning to stop doing blip at all.
I just got my computer back (I am uploading this on the 31st).
I will upload the rest of the pictures for the rest of the week soon.
(Later tonight, perhaps?) I want to enjoy the balloon for a bit... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.