CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

"Photo on 2010-09-15 at 15.01.jpg"

There is no time like the present, especially with Blipfoto. So after signing up I thought I should record the moment there and then.

This is the first time in two years I have used my onboard camera on my wonderful iMac. Start close to home, from where all Blips will have to pass through, I thought.

The title is the generated file name from PhotoBooth, the Apple software that comes with all computers. So really I have had little to do on my first outing, which was always going to be a concern. How will I manage to reach the 100 that my friend Keith has already passed. He told me about Blipping as we drank in the pub, and as soon as my back was turned to buy him a drink, he took that day's picture. The cad.

Keith's "Ways with Words" though are likely beyond me, and I do worry about this becoming an outpouring of grief and complaint. I managed to dump quite a bit on Charles who popped round this morning and he only really wanted a cup of coffee. I shall try to be careful, judicious with words and keep to the Blip.

Talking of "Ways with Words", I am reminded of a year ago, when I helped my mate Dave to produce a DVD of his lecture in the series called "Ways with Words" at Dartington Hall, near Totnes in Devon. The Daily Telegraph had invited a range of people to present there and Dave brilliantly talked about his life as a photographer and journalist over the last thirty years and showed his wondrous images. I bought one of them to remind me of my days in Maymyo in Burma back in 1982. Check his website at davidthurstonphotography.co.uk and see if you can find "my" picture!

If I can produce just one or two to match his eye, I will be delighted. Dave even sold me my first DSLR which will be the source for all further Blips. But for my momentous initial foot in the water, here are all 66 KBs of my first offering. I hope they get better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.