John R Smith

By chamberlainjohn

Good old boys.....

.. and so they were in those days - boys I mean - generation after generation, year after year.

I stay in this college quite frequently - and I keep forgetting how spartan life was in a Cambridge college. There is going to be a multi-million pound refurbishment over the next couple of years - during a period when I am going to be Chair of the major stakeholder partner in the College.

So the result will be - no more padding along corridors to answer a call of nature, no more trying to wash body and face in tepid water, no more lack of wifi access and having to queue up to use a machine in the computer room - which I am doing at the moment.

And it will all be marvellous - far beyond the imagining of these hundreds of young men who are now either very old or very dead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.