Stirling Reidos

By StirlingReidos

A day to remember

Es was part of the St.Ninians Day Parade today to welcome Pope Benedict to Scotland. I had to send her back to bed this morning three times before I left at 06hr15...I think she was a wee bit excited.

I was a tad excited too. It was a good day for Scotland, the eyes of the world were on our nation.

I popped out of my office with some colleagues to see the Pontiff leave Holyrood Palace...we just made it. As we were walking down the Cannongate the gates of the Palace opened so we had to sprint the last bit. Managed to get down there just as the police outriders set off.

Es had a good day. She saw the First Minister giving some media interviews, enjoyed the excitement of the parade and had a good view of the Pope as he went along Princes Street.

She arrived home with some souvenirs and memories that will last her a lifetime:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.