Going... Going... Gone...

First day of kindergarten. I'd heard other mothers talk about how they cried when they put their kindergartner on the bus for the first time, but I wasn't too worried about it. My daughter woke up, and the first thing she said was "I can't wait to ride the bus to kindergarten!" I was relieved to hear that after yesterday's apparent reservations.

So we waited at the end of the drive for the big yellow bus. It came. It stopped. She hopped right on without even looking back. The door closed. I took one more picture. The big yellow bus headed up the street -- to the big sprawling school -- with my one and only little girl. And I lost it. The tears didn't stop for about 10 minutes, but I was fine the rest of the day. When she came home, her face was beaming, and she couldn't stop talking about how much she loved kindergarten. And I loved hearing her say that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.