Pania's Photo Parade

By Pania

A Different Viewpoint

For this week's assignment I decided to do a little experiment.
I wanted to do the most radical interpretation of "A different viewpoint" as possible, so I decided to take a photo, where every single aspect of it was decided by someone else.
Therefore, I asked Anja to find a motif and make all the decisions about perspective, camera settings; anything and everything.
In the end, she also held the camera body where she wanted it, while I just pressed the shutter.
So, basically, I took the photo, but it is 100 percent taken from somebody else's point of view.
Last but not least, I of course wasn't allowed to crop it or edit it in any important way, since that would enable me to "overrule" her decisions with my editing.

The question is, who's photo is it?
I came up with the idea for the project, the concept, and, in the end, I was the one who pressed the release button.
But the creative process (okay, I know, it's a sheep drinking from a teacup, but try to catch my drift) itself I had nothing to do with.

It was very hard not to make any suggestions or corrections, and also really amusing seeing Anja running around taking test-shots, adjusting light, testing different backgrounds, basically doing what I normally do.
All in all, it was a lot of fun for me.
Also, the whole thing made me think. I really like to allow other people to put limitations on my work, because it makes me think in new patterns. That's really what this whole Blip assignment is about as well, challenging people with a limiting "theme", that maybe they wouldn't have thought of themselves.
Not having any control over today's blip reminded me of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.