Diptych

By diptych

crumbling above our heads

I have to credit this find to Scorpionkiss. He's the one who pointed out the fact that the top of the minaret was bent. After taking the photo, I realised that wasn't the only sign of disrepair. There are holes, broken pieces of wood, bent iron.

The other minarets in this area are intricate. They are filled with beautiful carvings just waiting to be photographed. And I plan to. The detail is breathtaking and it makes you marvel at the hands that carve into hard stone and create beauty out of their faith. But there is something about this thin, plain minaret, crumbling above our heads, not that anyone has noticed. There is something about it that deserves the smallest bit of attention. And that's why I've chosen it as my photo for today...

View large for detail

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.