dailykeith

By dailykeith

Coming together

The body is an interesting thing.

Mine has come with a built-in sensor for photographic composition. It doesn't mean my photos are any good, but I get a different physical reaction from inside depending on the make-up of an image.

Take this bridge, for example. I took something like 20 shots of it and when I viewed each of them, I reacted in different ways.

If they were taken from too far away, there was a distinct sinking feeling. Taken from the side, closer in, I could feel a mixture of spirits lifting, but ultimate disappointment because the shot didn't quite get there.

This shot gave me the most positive feeling, yet when I took the same view from 20 yards back, it was a different story.

I think it all has to do with symmetry, with soaring curves, with vanishing points and with huge pieces of metalwork in places you might not expect them (ie. up in the air on top of you). When they all come together in one shot, it sparks an instinctive, positive physical reaction.

Sorry for rambling, it's just something that intrigues me and which I felt like sharing.

Anyway, this relatively new bridge is to the west of Cheltenham town centre and is a little bit like the Sydney Harbour Bridge after it has shrunk in the wash.

In a town that has plenty of the regency stuff, it's nice to see something fresh and modern given centre stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.