Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

In their element

A busy day today with lots of places to be. Since it's late, I'll focus on the two most important things that happened today, one of which I've blipped.

My husband (in the background) got the opportunity to work with the Executive Chef (in the foreground) of our culinary institute. The chef is studying for some certifications that are coming up in October and asked my husband to come spend some time with him making Indian food. My husband loves to cook more than anything in the world. He feels about food the way I feel about photography. And our chef is probably one of my most favorite humans in the world. He is truly the most giving person I have ever met.

So when there is an opportunity, I don't want my husband to miss a moment. This photo was just a quick one but meant much more to me than the staged pose I took later on. This is them in their element laughing but focused on preparing their dishes. The menu was samosas, tamarind chutney, and a beef-potato curry. It was the first time my husband had ever cooked beef curry before, since we don't eat beef in our home.

Later in the evening, we met a friend of mine whom I haven't seen in at least 11 years. We grew up together, but she moved all those years ago to Finland where she married the man of her dreams. We met up at a new Japanese restaurant in town, and we got to meet her husband and see her mom (who I haven't seen in ages). It was so wonderful to see her again since I've only reconnected with her via Facebook in the last year.

She leaves for home again early next week, and I hope their journey home is safe and sound.

3 good things:
1. Seeing my husband smile
2. Watching my two year old gobble down his eel on rice
3. Warm rain

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.