wholegrain

Everything seems mostly back to normal, though there are a few stray barriers, cones and police still hanging around where they are not normally permanently deployed. Thankfully the streets were back to normal with no sights of people waving plastic flags and in some cases disturbingly seemingly encouraging their children to wave plastic flags at someone at whom they would hopefully not choose to wave a flag if they'd been allowed to make up their own mind.

I had intended to leave early, get into work early and finish early so that I could get home early to the returnèd wife and wingpiglet but was again delayed by some snooze-buttoning and my usual last-person-out door-and-window-checking faffery, which should have been alleviated by the knowledge that there would be someone back in the house well before I got back, especially considering that it's not been too bad for the previous few days when I've been in quite later after popping to cinemas or (as yesterday) taking a short detour to Staples at Hermiston Gait (thence past the Gyle, Cramond and Silverknowes for a bit of exercise) to re-stock on printer ink, which ran out to such an extent when printing off some appliance instructions for the flat that I had to click a box which announced that the printer would remember that I asked it to print when it had already told me several times that it was running out and that proceeding beyond this point (where the ink-levels might actually have been dangerously low rather than just low enough for the printer to think it worth attempting to get me to prematurely replace the ink before it was completely exhausted for fun and profit) might damage the printer or cause the world to go on fire. Next week I shall definitely try and reboot my early-starting, though attacking this by going to bed much earlier is probably more likely to work than just changing my alarm time. The wingpiglet's early-morning failure to go back to sleep after feeding seems to be getting slightly earlier each day as well as increasing in volume so might as well be put to some use, and whilst the mornings are getting noticeably less warm they're still not not warm enough to make them not sweaty, though the past few morning's powerful winds blowing down the road around the crags when I'm going up it is very very slightly more cooling for being windy than it is sweatifying for being a downhill wind on an uphill section. Something else I'll have to do before next week is give my other rucksack a wash, and possibly the washable bits of front-helmet padding as daily use throughout the summer has had a noticeable affect on their freshness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.