Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Stepped yellow

I should have done the various bits and pieces last night that I needed for this morning's meeting with my printing contact, but the humour wasn't on me and I opted instead to set the alarm for 8.00 and organise myself last-minute-ish. Inevitably, the meeting which was pencilled in for 10.30 didn't actually happen until 12.00. I had to drop into the bank in town anyway, so I let the mountain come to Mohammed and we met across the street from there. This contact guy of mine was formerly connected with a firm of printers I worked with before I took early retirement, and was a bit hard done by when that firm changed hands. He's recovered nicely now, though, as I realised when he came round the corner in a brand-new, very classy BMW. I got to sit in it and make all the appropriate ooh and aah noises while he glanced at an invoice I gave him for a recently completed job and wrote me an immediate cheque, after which we talked about another upcoming job which he wants me to work on with him.

I really should have come straight home to get stuck into the other job for which material began to come through yesterday, five days late, but I was on a bit of a high after a nicely positive meeting, out some more money in the parking machine and went for a camera-accompanied stroll around the block and along the canal. Builders are working on one of the buildings near the Pepper Canister church, where they've put up a bright yellow hoarding. I took a shine to the way they'd allowed for the flight of steps going up to the main door and snapped it from the neighbouring side.

Back home afterwards, the rest of the day has gone on work, work, work. Now it's time for a quick coffee break and a little Blip session before getting stuck in again to work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.