NoodlePix

By Pix

Deb and me

A busy and wonderful day today! Caught an early train to London in order to run in the third annual London City orienteering race. This has become a real highlight of the calendar for me, they always seem to get great weather, and today was no exception. I am never going to win an O race and usually near the bottom so I was very pleased to finish 70 something out of 140 in the men's open race when I should by rights have been in the over 40s class (oops did I just give my age away?) enjoyed the race so much I didn't want it to end, made only slight errors and felt quite strong, which is encouraging for the big race next weekend.

Then I met up with Deb an old colleague and friend from Sheffield who moved to London a few years ago. Always try to meet up when i am down in the smoke and we passed a lovely few hours on the south bank with a little liquid nourishment in the sunshine putting the world to rights. Okay we would have needed a bit longer to put everything right but we had a good go. Will have another chance soon I hope.

Then moved on again to see an even older friend, James, from school days, and we went for dinner and more liquid refreshment, and I am spending the night in his rather swanky apartment just south of tower bridge. By coincidence I ran past his apartment block on the orienteering course this morning, which was a pleasant surprise, and made it easier to find him later on.

More running in store tomorrow on Hampstead Heath...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.