Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Oops!

C and I went to town together this morning. She went to take pictures at the Farmers' Market, and I went on a guided walking tour of the waterfront district -- 220 acres of abandoned industrial property previously occupied by the Georgia-Pacific pulp and paper mill. The whole area is normally closed to the public.

The tour was interesting, but I didn't see anything that I wanted to blip. Most of the buildings have already been demolished. Those that remain have broken windows and look very neglected. The area would make a good location to film an apocalyptic movie.

My favorite structure is considered iconic, and will be preserved.

I was surprised to find that an autocross event was going on at the south end of the property. I managed to get signed in as a guest and watched the cars taking turns to drive around a course marked by plastic orange cones. It wasn't terribly exciting. Even though the course was quite short -- it took less than a minute to go around -- it wasn't all visible from from the viewing area.

The cars were all standard production models, except this Formula SAE car built by students at Western Washington University. The only standard purchased component is the Honda engine.

See more car photos here


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.