Portsmouth and beyond...

By johnnyc1959

Timelessness

It may be the 21st Century, the chair may be plastic, the clothing modern, but pretty much everything else probably hasn't changed for many a year. You can't walk for more than a couple of hundred yards without finding chickens wandering about, and I would guess that women have repaired clothing since time immemorial.

This is actually shot from my kitchen balcony, (well balcony is perhaps a little grandiose..., but anyway). The road behind where I live has only become visible in the past couple of weeks since the last of the maize was cut down, and I just happened to notice this shot as the sun was going down. The basket to the right of the picture is used to carry pretty much anything and everything (usually by women), supported by a strap around the head. Here's how....a photo I took earlier in Kathmandu

Anyway, enough rambling...thought this looked ok in sepia!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.