The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Oystercatchers At High Tide

The morning before we drove back from Boston to South Wales, I popped down to Freiston Shore, which is minutes away from Dawn's parents house.

I almost went down at sunrise, decided against it. Big mistake. It was the spring high tide, and it pushed all the waders onto the lagoon. This was something I wanted to see, having witnessed it on Springwatch earlier this year.

I may have missed the main event, but there were still hundreds of birds on the lagoons, largely Oystercatchers, Redshanks and Dunlins.

I walked down to the seawall, and stood there as flock after flock flew back over my head to return to the sea line, and see what tasty morsels the retreating tide had brought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.