RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

A Touch of Africa

This is Sorakata. He is the partner in this vending business that has been coming to the Monterey Jazz Festival for over 20 years. His handmade baskets are wonderful, very inexpensive and last virtually forever. We have two from years past and every time we attend the festival, he remembers me like I'm his only customer. We played drums together one year and I think that may have bonded us a bit.

The money he takes in from sales help to support various causes in Africa and his homeland. He is a kind and generous man who believes in good business practices and making friends for life.

The Monterey Jazz Festival came to an end last night with the performances of Harry Connick Jr. and legendary jazz pianist/composer Ahmad Jamal. A wonderful time was had by all. We gave our best wishes to our yearly friends that come from all over the U.S. and the World, and we are sad it's over, but happily anticipating seeing everyone again next year.

A man I had never met before said to me: "I come to this festival and I make new friends and enjoy the celebration of life and jazz with wonderful people. It makes me wonder why the whole world can not be like this."

I totally agree.

Peace!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.