Colin Parte

By ColinParte

Dapper Dan

When in Dublin, I like to "fish" for pictures with my 70-300mm lens in Grafton St, where I can stand in a doorway and pick off faces, a bit like a sniper. Cornmarket in Belfast is now proving to be fruitful in that same respect, but with the added bonus of being able to sit at a table outside Starbucks and refuel at the same time.

This chap, who we shall call Dapper Dan, was with a friend who he sent to sit and wait, while he visited Thorntons chocolate shop. His friend also wore a fedora but it was very difficult to get a decent shot of them both together. I was very happy to note the lettering on the hoarding behind him when I loaded my images into my computer!

When viewed large, you can really see the care and attention he takes with his appearance. Shiny shoes and the gold tiepin along with the multi-coloured walking stick complete his look. I imagine he has worked in the Arts field all his life. We should all aspire to this level of deportment!

I managed a couple of other interesting shots around the same time. Five Guys Named Bob (Bob The Builder, for those of you outside the UK) was going to be my Blip until Dan turned up, and Youth of Yesteryear just appealed to my sense of humour! Click on the links below to see what you think.

On the subject of street photography, a friend insists that it is best in black and white. In all three cases here, it is the colour that attracted me to the shots. What's your opinion?

Five Guys Named Bob

Youth of Yesteryear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.