Icicle

I awoke in the night to an eerie glow. I looked out of the window and was surprised to see bright moonlight shining on a white landscape.

This morning everything was covered in frozen snow. All the spring flowers were flattened. The two pink anemones were barely visible under a cushion of sparkling crystals. Fruit blossoms, Forcythia and Japonica were encrusted with sugar-like ice. The cabbage trees had their upper leaves flattened.

Hanging out my washing was a surreal experience. The snow crunched under my boots. I had to knock the icicles from the clothesline. Yet the sunshine was so warm that it felt summery.

My car was caked in snow and I didn't make a good job of scraping it off. As I drove to Christchurch under a clear blue sky the snow on the bonnet melted and I had to keep the windscreen wipers going to see my way.

For those of you who were concerned by my wonkyness yesterday, I am feeling much better today, thank you.

Good in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.