Moments

By togrrrl

Autumn Grasses

The colour of these leaves stopped me in my tracks this morning. The colour went straight through me. I don't know if I captured it.

After work I met a friend at the Gladstone Hotel Art Bar. This is a weekly life drawing studio that anyone can attend. Pay a few dollars, sit in a beautiful old room, draw, drink a glass of wine and listen to music. What could be better? It's the first time I've gone but not the last.

I felt instantly at home at the Gladstone. And I felt like I was one of the cool kids. Or at least a cool kid wannabe. Still can't draw very well but I had a couple of "aha" moments where what I was seeing connected with what I was drawing.

Nature Notes

- The first Golden-crowned Kinglets came through yesterday and there were more today. I stood under a tree and it was filled with chickadees, kinglets, goldfinches and cardinal. It's such a busy time of year.

- Strange events at the pigeon nest. The pigeons are back. The baby came back too. It can fly but it's still noticeably smaller than its parents. I noticed that two pigeons were battling this afternoon. I think it was another male trying to take over the nest. The female looked on and the baby got into the act every once and a while. The fight went on for at least a half an hour - pecking, biting, shoving - and was still going on when I had to leave. I wonder what will happen?

Apologies: I've been particularly delinquent with comments....sigh....I'll try to catch up tomorrow.

P.S. I backblipped yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.