A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

The Tutton's cottage.

Cropped from a larger image this is part of the view from the top of the pier brae steps. I have purposely cropped out the pier itself with its clutter of parked cars and other debris.

I like the appearance of the dormer gable windows of the old houses that line the southern side of Portree pier. Beyond them and across Loch Portree one can see the top of The Tutton Cottage.

I used a fast speed and and a small aperture in order to maintain a maximum depth of field. I used the railings at the head of the steps as my camera support.

Generally I like to use the manual setting on my camera in order to maintain maximum control though I still let the camera auto-focus. It is better than my eyesight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.