Joe's Blips

By joesblips

The Pineapple.

This isn't any old Pineapple. It is THE Pineapple. What?, do I hear you say. Well this poor pineapple was rescued from a 16th birthday party, where it had suffered terrible abuse through being used as a rugby ball by the lads. It is so tender and oozing juices that we are afraid to eat it but before giving it a decent burial in the bottom of the bin I thought I would use it for an experimental blip today. I just had to try something out.
Two reading lamps formed the light source. The file was copied and the brightness of the leafy bits at top were lightened. I now had two files, one with nice green bits but over exposed fruit and the other, the reverse. I then used Photoshop CS3's merge to HDR tool to bring the two together with the best of both worlds. There are other simpler ways to accomplish this but I just had to see if the technique would work with two ordinary JPEG files since it is really intended for RAW's. As you can see it does work... another useful little trick to have in my armoury.
As a further note, the lens was an old screw type Pentax fitted to my Canon EOS via my newly acquired adaptor ring!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.