Netters and co

By Netters

Coffee morning

This morning I helped at a Macmillan coffee morning, Yes ! my life is that exciting ! It was hosted by an elderly lady that I take care of a couple of times a week , I did the running around and boy ! can those old folk eat cake !! We raised over £200 , so worth the multiple coffees I made . I met a couple of pretty amazing people actually

This is Mr Ayres MBE , he and I have met before, I like him very much, he was head gardener at Anglesey Abbey for many years and has a snow drop named after him, some of which grow in my garden, he is now an advisor for the RHS I believe. He told me an amusing story today told to him by Prince Charles. And now I shall tell you.

When Prince Charles was still married to Princess Diana they had a holiday in Greece, upon seeing a huge very old terracotta pot Prince Charles expressed a desire to wn it for his garden, Diana replied "You have the money so buy it" So he did.

The pot was shipped from Greece, addressed only to The Prince of Wales Tetbury. Some days later Highgrove recieved a call from The prince of wales Pub in tetbury asking if the prince had ordered a gigantic pot. The pot was then moved from the pub to its rightful home at Highgrove.

There, arent you glad I regaled you with such a story.

Anyway I have been invited to visit Mr Ayres own garden. I will too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.