Me by the Sea

By robindbythesea

Autumn Leaves on a Park Bench

Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower.
Albert Camus


Autumn, the year's last, loveliest smile.
William Cullen Bryant


I feel I must apologise if I am boring you with a plethora of focalised colour shots. I have been having a difficult time finding subject matter without an ugly or boring background. So I have been portraying the ugliness in fuzzy black and white. How I wish this worked in Real Life.

I did, however, think these leaves were such a lovely vibrant colour (the park bench, less so). I don't remember an autumn with colours this bright before. Well, not since I lived in New England. Something to do with the drier, hotter summer I am told. Or perhaps I merely forgot to look.

Some days I feel myself overcome with the need to See. I worry that in trying to see my world in a new and interesting way, to find that image that will keep you entertained, I have perhaps forgotten to truly look, to actually see my world, to remain conscious. These are the thoughts that occupy my mind until the colour and shape of a leaf captivates my imagination and I forget about you, about me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.