Jottings from the web

By Ariadnesweb

Little Glenshee

I think Perthshire is the most beautiful county in which to live. I live in a pretty town, Crieff. Drive out of town, turn left at Gilmerton and you're into wonderful landscape, far from people, noise, pollution-free. I love it.

Today was one of these fabulous September days in Scotland when, oh my God, it's just perfect! After my shopping had been delivered, the washing hung out and lunch eaten, I packed the dog in the car and took off. Husband and son were both working, so I went on my own. First stop, Buchanty Spout, where the salmon leaps.

Not today, sadly, not while I was there anyway! Several other people were watching hopefully. Dog and I drove on to Little Glenshee, about 15 miles from Crieff. We crossed the ford, parked the car and started walking.

I'm not a writer. I'm not sure if I can express my feelings convincingly. If I say that the only sounds I heard was the wind through the heather, water running over stones and the occasional baa-a from sheep; that my eyes are almost filling up now, the reader might understand how lovely the scene was.

My father used to say there was no such thing as luck, you made your own luck. I do believe that actually. It's not 'lucky' I live in Perthshire. We chose to live here and work hard enough to earn enough money to maintain the lifestyle we wanted.

We are eating duck this evening and drinking good wine.

Today is one of the days in which all the work, the planning, comes together to affirm my love of life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.