Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Village Life

This is the farm shop in our village, run by a local family of farmers, Sarah & David & their 3, soon to be 4 children, plus David's mother Ann and Sarah's mother, Margaret.

Chickens run round outside at the back of the shop so the eggs are often very fresh indeed! All the produce is sourced locally and Sarah does a weekly email to let us know what's in, how the harvest has gone, what crops are coming on next, as well as giving some recipes & meal suggestions.

They all know us well so it's a bit difficult to just pop in quickly. Today we had to give Margaret a full run down of the Worcester Warriors v Doncaster Knights rugby match (we won 30-28 in case you're interested) as she's from there originally. We're going to lend David our season tickets when we're on holiday so he and his son can go to the games in our place. And if Sarah's in the shop, she and Gary talk recipes and menus for ages (I don't tend to join in that conversation often 'can't cook, won't cook' is my motto)

I never imagined I'd end up living in a village & thought I would hate it if I did. I've spent most of my life living in a city and even now, I work in Birmingham & go to London twice a month so do still get my city life fix. But I do enjoy our village life and the farm shop is one of the reasons.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.