Diarmuids adventure

By diarmpearse

Swans at Mudeford Quay

Have had a really good day today, spent a peaceful, lazy morning with Tess, off to the footy with the lads in the afternoon to see the Cherries beat Carlisle 2-0. Back home and went down to the Quay and was busy taking what I have to say were lovely evening photos of boats on the drying out harbour when alerted by Tess this fellow and his mate flew in; I had one shot at it and got lucky ....
Anyway gives me a chance to put up a poem by my favourite poet and a link to a lovely song.Two Island Swans




I have looked upon those brilliant creatures,
And now my heart is sore.
All's changed since I, hearing at twilight,
The first time on this shore,
The bell-beat of their wings above my head,
Trod with a lighter tread.

Unwearied still, lover by lover,
They paddle in the cold,
Companionable streams or climb the air;
Their hearts have not grown old;
Passion or conquest, wander where they will,
Attend upon them still.

But now they drift on the still water
Mysterious, beautiful;
Among what rushes will they build,
By what lake's edge or pool
Delight men's eyes, when I awake some day
To find they have flown away

The Wild Swans at Coole
W.B. Yeats (1865-1939)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.