Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Harvest Festival

Our Rector Pat Prestney, after many years with the local community is retiring. Her swan song was the harvest festival, so Rainbow daughter and I went along to wish her a fond farewell.

Pat is known to my daughter through her involvement with the primary school and as the rainbows were to participate, I attended too in the supporting roles of dad and taxi driver.

The church was looking fabulous, decorated with golden sunflowers amongst others and the congregation extended to standing room only. The hour-long service was much appreciated by all in attendance. The warmth and welcoming that greeted us today, was ever more present than when we first met Pat ten years ago. It was the Easter service, which co-incided with the Christening of my nephew William, another memorable Sunday morning.

I'm still far from certain that shooting from the congregation is the done thing, but I decided to risk being banished to the car park at the expense of missing the moment.

I hope you like it! Happy retirement Pat!

PS: in case you're wondering, yes the blurry object bottom right is indeed my finger!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.