The Poss

By PossMan

Hark the Herald Angels

I think in this year 2010 churches will start looking forward to Christmas on 28th November - the first Sunday in Advent. Every shopkeeper knows they're wrong and Advent starts much earlier. This shot taken in one of our so-called garden centres shows them getting ready to start the Xmas season. Putting up their Xmas stalls behind black blinds. I expect it will be the usual tacky stuff and no doubt there'll be the herald angels of my title, in tinsel, to hang from the tree. Went today because Alison wanted some bulbs. Next time we go I expect I'll have to put up with "Jingle Bells" and the like to add to the "atmosphere". Strange but there are a number of nurseries out of town that sell plants and garden stuff, the "garden centres" nearer town have morphed into shops selling lots of other stuff and a selection of very ordinary plants that have been bought from outside rather than grown on site. This particular one sells books but a fair percentage are books about the war. Sorry about the rant - I'm turning into a real grump.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.