(music I used to like)

There's probably a room or two in a research institute somewhere in which the rise and fall of things and the nature of virality and critical popularity are quantified. Once something gets beyond a critical level of popularity, is it always inevitable that it will suddenly begin to increase exponentially? As an example, will Edinburgh ever again be a place which is slightly popular for stag and hen trips but not stupidly popular, to the detriment of much of the city centre? What happens to things passing out of the other side of being immensely popular?

I'm going to have to adjust my pop-to-work-to-dump-shirts-and-trousers routine at some point as recently it seems to have coincided with the cleaning of the changing room, including my locker being partially blocked by the bench-things today. I didn't think the clean was supposed to occur until nineish as that's the cut-off time implied by the notices warning us that our stuff will be binned if it's still lying around on Sunday evening. Ideally I should get stuff ironed on Thursday and brought in on normal-dress-day Friday to avoid having to make a discrete journey at the weekend, though all exercise is beneficial and in this case Nicky and Edgar were already out in order to buy food and beads. A more useful thing to remember would be to not end up in the right-hand eastbound lane of Princes Street when it hits the cobblysection, even if being in that lane reduces the risk of being killed by LRT over the preceding three blocks. Despite the juddering wheelfuckery of hitting the cobbles at well over twenty the journey back was lightened slightly by observing a packet of tobacco drop from the pocket of a bloke I caught up with at the end of Shandwick Place. I would have told him but he jumped the red light at which I stopped. Hardly a fitting penalisation, but it all helps. If I'd thought of it I could have caught up with him at the far end (he skipped another light further down and did some daft weaving through some moving buses and taxis which had already demonstrated their own inabilities to drive mindfully) and then told him but left him when I escaped down Market St to get away from the buses and fumes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.