This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

Portrait of an Artist

It turns out the cynical soul is quite the artist. One of his friends is intent on making our subject, David Sutherland, famous. I'll contribute to this cause by dedicating today's blog to our unknown celebrity.

I watched David add to his piece in the park today, and asked him why he did it. Where it came from. What he was thinking of. He responded that it was his projection onto a paper of his thoughts within thoughts within thoughts...And his art is memories. It's a Sutherland code that only David can decipher. A private picture book of moments in a black and white collage. He told me to try and create an image out of dots, that it was a good discipline.

Do yourself a favor and check out his art, http://ddsutherland.carbonmade.com/

David's a quiet kind of guy who doesn't waste words. Unlike the rest of us who manage to convey something meaningful with about 30% of our conversation at most, David's every utterance is worth hearing, laden with cynicism as they are. Sometimes he'll just meow.

Today in the park he asked me to translate while he got a mini acrobatic lesson from the shirtless guys doing backflips and handsprings. They marveled over his 5-toed shoes, and spotted him through what was probably the first backflip he's ever done.

I think it would be really cool to have some of David Sutherland's art as body art and I'm pushing the idea on him. I want him to design his memory of me for my tattoo. I asked him if he thought he could do that. He said he never thought he could paint an entire wall, but he had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.