Sprinkler

The septic tank was emptied today and there was no obvious problem brought about by the earthquake. Big relief.

It was a lot of work. My son was on hand to do the heavy digging. He also lifted and put aside the turf from the grass path. I dug out the flower plants, including the Iceland poppies and anemone with the red flowers. The young man did a quick and efficient job of cleaning out the deep, 2.7 cubic metre tank. Everything was as it should be.

Then we filled in the hole, replaced the turf, and I replanted the flowers. I put the sprinkler on the area to give it a good soak.

Apart from being a bit hot (20ºC) the conditions were ideal. The ground was dry enough to work and a light nor'wester kept the slight smell away from the house.

Later my son repaired the greenhouse door, which has had a big hole in it all winter. It will soon be time to plant the tomatoes that I have raised from seed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.