Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

High-tech Low-tech

Went for my after-dinner walkabout and again was stunned by the beautiful sunset over SaddleBrooke Hill. Didn?t take a camera (luckily) because I don?t want to bore you with the high intensity pinks and matching (i call them complimentary, but according to my color wheel they are triadic) blues. The colors are so brilliant that they took my breath away with their power. It was about two minutes of color majesty and it sent me back home for another glass of pinot grigio. In fact, I killed the bottle...

Fortunately, on the morning bike ride of 16 miles to local grocery store with bakery, I caught this picture of high-tech mechanization and low-tech handwork. Someone is building a new house and today is foundation day when the slab is poured.

Concrete is pumped directly from the cement mixer into a pumping machine which sends the mix high overhead to a hose that delivers the material to the necessary place. That is the high-tech mechanized part and it replaces wheelbarrows, the old way where tons of material were handled by human-power. The low tech part is that the concrete has to be finished by hand and the workers are standing by in their rubber boots with floats and trowels. That is hard work too, but it provides food on the table for families of the workers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.