Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Tangled Up In Blue

As Joey Ramone succinctly put it, "You work, you work, you write all night, until the early morning light; but you can't please all the people all the time, oh, this business is killin' me." And so it did. RIP Joey.

I've always felt that trying to do anything creative is like wilfully ensnaring yourself in a trap, and producing the great piece of art you're hoping for - be it literary, photographic, musical, sculptural, whatever - lies in how you go about disentangling yourself. That trap is of course your vision of what the end product should look like, and in order to free yourself, you need to pick out all the knots and threads and really make that vision come true.

Today, that has not been happening for me. I can see those sticky threads of writer's block shooting at me, as if flung by Spiderman himself. Here's hoping I wake up tomorrow with a non-stick exterior.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.